Robert J. Geoghan, Founder and President of the Quarterback Club of Washington since its inception in 1965, has donated to Joe Gibbs’ Youth For Tomorrow – New Life Center, Inc. the Quarterback Club of Washington name and all rights and properties established through its 50 year history.

“I am pleased that Youth For Tomorrow has agreed to accept the Quarterback Club’s desire to merge the Quarterback Club of Washington with YFT and, furthermore, that YFT agrees to announce the annual recipient of the QBC’s Redskins Player of the Year Award at its annual Burgundy & Gold Banquet beginning in 2016. The “Redskins-Player-of-the-Year Award” is named in honor of the Washington Redskins legendary Hall of Fame quarterback Sammy Baugh.”

The Club started off in 1965 hosting luncheons featuring Redskin players to meet the fans in an up close and personal manner where they would discuss the previous games, talk about the upcoming opponents, share their background with stories, answer questions from the audience and give autographs along with having their pictures taken with individuals.

In 1969 the Club gave out the inaugural “Redskins-Player-of-the-Year” Award to Sam Huff. Since the inaugural award, every year the award is given at the end of the season to the outstanding player as voted on by members of the QBC and members of the local media who cover the team. It is expected this award process will continue under the auspices of Youth For Tomorrow as determined by its Board Chairman and CEO.

“I am personally honored and pleased that Youth For Tomorrow, an outstanding charity, and its revered Founder and NFL legendary Coach Joe Gibbs have agreed to continue the tradition and history of the Quarterback Club of Washington in honoring the “Redskins Player of the Year.”